Friday, February 13, 2015

Strong Memphis flavor as Mr. and Miss Basketball finalists set

From Commercial Appeal

The AAA Mr. Basketball award will have a distinct Hoop City look about it this year.

All three finalist for the award are from Memphis: future U of M Tigers Dedric and K.J. Lawson of Hamilton and Southwind's Ole Miss signee Donte Dorsey.

The city was also well-represented in the other classifications Friday.

Douglass standout LaGerald Vick is a finalist for the second straight year in AA, where he joins Braxton Blackwell of CPA and Jackson Southside's Chris McNeal. In Class A, Jeremiah Martin of Mitchell joins Tucker Campbell of Adamsville and Marcus Deberry of Union City.

Briarcrest's Micah Thomas was chosen in Division 2-AA along with Jordan Bone of Nashville Ensworth and Darius Garland of Brentwood Academy. St. George's Justin Wertner is a repeat finalist in D2-A, joining Kenny Cooper of Franklin Road Academy and Dakota Quinn of Davidson Academy.

Brandi Beasley

Brandi Beasley, who has led Ridgeway to an undefeated season and a No. 4 national ranking in USA Today, is a finalist in AAA girls alongside Murfreesboro Blackman standouts Crystal Dangerfield and Alex Johnson.

Kaylan Pugh

Ohio State signee Kaylan Pugh of St. Mary's, the state's leading scorer at 30 points per game, was chosen in D2 with last year's winner Micah Sheetz of Knoxville Webb and USJ's Anna Jones.

The Division 2 winners will be announced on Feb. 28 at the conclusion of the state tournament in Nashville. The girls winner will be announced March 7 in Murfreesboro followed by the boys winner on March 14.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.