Friday, April 13, 2018

2018 Commercial Appeal All-Metro Girls Basketball Team

Nominees for girls basketball player of the year, which will be announced at the Commercial Appeal Sports Awards on June 5.

First Team

Gabby Crawford
Munford, Sr.
Position: Guard

Why chosen: Crawford averaged 17.9 points, 10.1 rebounds and 2.9 assists while leading the Cougars to a 22-10 record and a spot in the Class AAA sectionals for the second consecutive year. She'll play her college ball at Alabama.

Elizabeth Dixon
Ridgeway, Sr.
Position: Post

Why chosen: The 6-4 Dixon was a Miss Basketball finalist in Class AAA after averaging 24 points, 14 rebounds and six blocks. She became the first girl from Memphis selected to play in the McDonald's All-American game and has signed with Georgia Tech.

Jayla Hemingway
Houston, Jr.
Position: Guard

Why chosen: Several Power 5 schools are clamoring for Hemingway's signature after she led the Mustangs to a 28-6 record and a runner-up finish in Class AAA. The three-year starter averaged 21.7 points and 7.2 rebounds while shooting 49 percent from the floor.

Sadé Hudson
Trezevant, Sr.
Position: Guard

Why chosen: Hudson averaged 22.9 points while leading the Bears to the Class AA SCIAA championship and a 21-7 record. She has signed to play her college ball at Tennessee-Martin.

Lanetta Williams
Arlington, Jr.
Position: Post

Why chosen: The 6-3 junior led Arlington to a 27-8 record and a spot in the Class AAA state tournament, averaging 12.5 points and 9.4 rebounds while shooting 53 percent from the floor.

G: Lauren Gross, Northpoint, Sr.
G: Akeria James, Craigmont, Jr.
G: Jireh Washington, Central, Sr.
G: Destinee Wells, Houston, So.
F: Jade Wells, Northpoint, Sr.

G: Se'Quoia Allmond, Whitehaven, Fr.
G: Derrenishia Jackson, Booker T. Washington, Sr.
G: Savanna Owens, Briarcrest, Sr.
G: Johne' Stewart, Central, Sr.
F: Brittni Moore, White Station, Sr.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.